Day Five: Nyctophilia

I wish I may, I wish I might, to have my whim, I say
to the Djinn.
be in my solitude in comfort
and breed no echos of regret

 

I wish I may, I wish I might, to have my whim, I say
to the Djinn
my comfort to have in all
naked lights

 

I wish I may, I wish to say, I point out
to the fool
there lies your soul
attached to you.

 

I wish I may, I wish to say, I point
to the fool
look down and see your shadow
wasted wish, for there lies your nyctophilia.

 

Til the lights go out, forever my nyctophilia.

 

***

I might have to spend some more time with this one some day, had a lot of ideas on how to go with this. It saddens me that this word isn’t in the merriam-webster site. Such a lovely word deserves some attention so here’s a poem just for it! Prompt by a friend again, shadows.

Leave a Reply

