Final Farewell

A friend of old
once did deign to tell me
I knew not how to say goodbye
shrugging sheepishly then,
now I know it’s true.

It’s a road fraught with peril
danger of losing the present,
forgetting, and moving forward.
A chill wind sweeps down
on my soul- I am afraid.

The path crackles underfoot
with dying leaves of a ruby autumn.
My heart chips away and breaks
with the cracking of a twig
I am left barren- lost. 

On the track, I look back to see my steps
unfettered, I chose this way.
The sun sets, the shadows lengthen,
my mind denies the future but I’m ready.
My heart is set- Farewell. 

2 thoughts on “Final Farewell

Leave a Reply

