I met a writer with ambition
strong and true
in a narrow view they saw
the fame and fortune
dreams come true
after a mountain’s worth
of toil, trouble, and words
I read a book
starched to pure perfection
but never did I glimpse
anything but a shallow pool.

I met a writer with ambition
strong and true
to see them grin and watch the world
diligently placing cobblestones
one after another in their own words
a messy imperfection
they did reap
I read a book
lovingly careworn
and I closed my eyes in pleasure
to see the depths of a soul.

***

Happy National Poem In Your Pocket Day. Surprisingly my English teacher knew about it and made our Communications class share a poem. Mine?

The Bridge Builder by Will Allen Dromgoole

May have shared it before, but I like it so much I’ll share again!

~Tally

Leave a Reply

