Mortal’s Folly

that I could write my name in stone
to taste that which is immortal

this day my tears fell fast
I knew no solace to my soul
bitter, biting disappointment
feasts and I knew no path

that I could write my name in stone
to taste that which is immortal

disillusioned, disheartened
I feared to care for future roads
lost in an abyss, I squinted to find the light
mirage, nothing more

that I could write my name in stone
to taste that which is immortal

holding fast to threadbare  hope
that I might know the coarse
touch of a thrown rope
I knew my depth, all was folly

that I could write my name in stone
to taste that which is immortal

temptation, that most sly of sins
thought I that I might reach the stars?
fool, it was for naught, to jump-
and fall, another deluded mortal

that I could write my name in stone
to taste that which is immortal

Leave a Reply

