First Race

it hurts
a blast and I’m pounding
pounding, and
strategies falls away
the mind rises to a state of…
concentrated pain
not enough air,
it hurts
the last steps, the finish
close my eyes, deep breath
the mind pushes away the pain
enters back into the aching body
oops, no strategy
but all is well, there is next time

***

Celebrating my first track meet since… Eighth grade. Cut thirty seconds off of my first race, then I realized I’d doomed myself for the mile run. Too tired.  Must remember this for… tomorrow. But I’m  satisfied with the first race at any rate.

Leave a Reply

