Looking Back: The Best of 2011

Pretty soon this little blog is going to be celebrating its first year! And I got the annual (my first!) report in my email and I was looking through it. Won’t share all of it but I will share three of the most viewed poems of 2011.

First place goes to A Peacock’s Colors, an attempt to capture the beauty of the peacock. I’ll go ahead and repost it here:

You’re a peacock
whose colors I look at without failing to
be awed

Elegant, brilliant blue
shimmering, radiating grace
an awesome hue

You’re a peacock
whose regal strut
makes me grin

Silver, ivory beak
Snapping up your meal in a most stately way
you look so sleek

You’re a peacock
with a feathery appeal
that makes me ticklish

Mystic, multicolored eyes
The brightest greens, blues, oranges, and yellows
The definition of iridescence

You’re a peacock
with a funny crown
but no matter

My lovely colorful friend
I apologize for the terrible depiction
I don’t wish to offend…

***

The second most viewed poem was my personal favorite Nepenthe, a rather long one but one that I really enjoyed writing:

Each time we met my name was new to my little friend,
my tiny, winged friend resided inside a garden
which boasted more blossoms than my nonexistent one,
one day she found her way to me
looking for kith or maybe a kindred soul
we drank the wind
our nepenthe.

Each time we met my name was new to my little friend,
a friendship created out of need,
out of sorrow and shared grief
reminiscent past, existent present, pendulous future
all lost in dark shadows
we drank the wind
our nepenthe.

Each time we met my name was new to my little friend,
she had come from the first rosy dawn
and had seen lives go by
in flames of different colors
past passions, dreams, hopes forgotten
we drank the wind
our nepenthe

Each time we met my name was new to my little friend,
one day we watched the day slip by
into eternity
while I lay in the sweet grass, casting a large shadow
and my one-inch friend sat on my dozing cat
we drank the wind
our nepenthe.

Each time we met my name was new to my little friend,
her awful aura of immortality
extending into an ominous future, forever hearing
the timeless laments of the world
which we sang together and then
we drank the wind
our nepenthe.

Each time we met my name was new to my little friend,
flying through the air as I watched
chained to the ground,
every movement holding envious, fluid grace
she settled on my palm and
we drank the wind
our nepenthe.

Each time we met my name was new to my little friend,
immortal, winged creature
more Earthbound than I
faery seeking perfection where there is none
the sorrows of the world forgotten only when
we drank the wind
our nepenthe.

***

Lastly, All Consuming took third place, a sea piece:

the sea has a singular sound
-that seeps into the very core;
of the soul, echoing evermore
it washes over
-all consuming

the sea’s breath on the cheek makes one shiver
-a feel of eternity, a taste;
both magnificent and ominous
it flows around
-all consuming

the sea’s all consuming beauty fills the mind
-no moment passes without;
turmoil and thought
wave after wave fills the mind
-all consuming

***

Special thanks to all my subscribers, here’s hoping for a great year!

~Tally

 

2 thoughts on “Looking Back: The Best of 2011

  1. wasn’t sure how else to contact you so I’ll just leave a comment here. What you wrote on my blog post was actually.. how do i put it.. brilliant? lol it’s probably the best writing advice I got here on wordpress as of now. how long have you been writing, Ms. Expert? 😛

    1. Haha, I’m certainly no expert, I’ve been writing poetry for several years and only just started writing longer works over a year ago. Hopefully it helped a little, you can contact me at tallyt06 at gmail dot com. I’ll be dropping over every once in a while to cheer on a fellow writer:)

Leave a Reply

