If Only I Could Fly

Today I felt nostalgia
for a dream I dreamt
when I was young.

Longing, for a dream about the boundless sky
in which a full moon
sat enthroned amidst a starry sky.

A cold sweeping wind
turned my skin to ice
while I swept through an imponderable sky.

Exhilarating, adrenaline coursing in my chilled blood
as I rose to a mystic moon
and felt the power of the sky.

Invincible, I did not fall and
when I woke the feeling stayed
Nostalgia for a freedom found only in the sky.

The feeling lives on
my only wish being to find a way to fly
that unbounded sky.

16 thoughts on “If Only I Could Fly

  1. Brilliant words, great imagery. The idea of the freedom of true flight is one felt by all, whether literal flying or less literal fast and free roaming (like on a bike) does not matter but the fact is one that makes your poem all the better as all people can relate to it.
    The Lonely Recluse.

  2. “Invincible, I did not fall and
    when I woke the feeling stayed
    Nostalgia for a freedom found only in the sky.”

    Well done my favorite stanza qouted above dreams of childhood are always the purest and should be remembered as long as possible…for the sky is the limit when your young.

Leave a Reply

