Running, panting

Against winds who push back

Filling burning lungs with air

While ears pick up the cheers

Determination picks up the stride

Not much now

Pounding heart

Pumping arms

Tearing across the black

Surface to the finish line.

A bitter defeat for all but one…

***

I helped out at a track meet today, so pretty much I was on my feet all day. Ah, not for the first time I wish I had done track this year. Next year perhaps. I really enjoyed watching the runners. Overall, even though I am tired it was a marvelous day.

~Tally

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

